This website uses technical and assimilated cookies as well as user-profiling third party cookies in a grouped format to simplify online navigation and to protect the use of services. To find out more or to refuse consent to the use of one or any of the cookies, click here. Closing this banner, browsing this page or clicking on anything will be taken as consent to the use of cookies.

Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of St John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta


Young Order volunteers awarded prestigious westphalian peace prize for their work with handicapped

The youth group of the German Association of the Order have been awarded the prestigious Westphalian Peace Prize in recognition of their altruistic help for young people with handicaps in areas of war and crisis.

The group run summer holiday camps for disadvantaged children and young people in homes and orphanages in the Lebanon. Since 1998, over 300 young volunteers have spent their summer in Lebanon helping these disabled young: over 150 a week come to the camp during the summer period. ‘Our charges look forward to this holiday with joyous anticipation every year,’ say the Sisters at the ‘Mission de Vie’ at Antelias, near Beirut.

The adult award went to Kofi Annan, former United Nations Secretary General, for his steadfastness in ‘holding to his vision of a more peaceful world in spite of political disappointments and personal criticism’. He told the proud volunteers how happy he was ‘to be sharing the prize with the Young Malteser Association in recognition of your tremendous work helping fellow young people in Lebanon and the Middle East.’

The Westphalian Peace Prize

The Prize was first awarded in 1998, 350 years after the Westphalian Peace in Münster, which ended the 30 Years War. The Prize is given every two years, for individuals and for youth groups who have offered a special contribution for Europe and the conciliation of the people of the world. The Youth Prize is for young people or groups who have set an example for peace and stability.

Former prizewinners:

1998 Václav Havel.

2000 Helmut Kohl

2002 Carla Del Ponte

2004 Kurt Masur

2006 Valéry Giscard d´Estaing

young order volunteers awarded prestigious westphalian peace prize work handicapped

Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of St John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta

Magistral Palace, Via Condotti, 68 Rome - Italy

Tel. +39.06.67581.1 | [email protected]