This website uses technical and assimilated cookies as well as user-profiling third party cookies in a grouped format to simplify online navigation and to protect the use of services. To find out more or to refuse consent to the use of one or any of the cookies, click here. Closing this banner, browsing this page or clicking on anything will be taken as consent to the use of cookies.

Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of St John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta

Sovereign Council

Sovereign Council

Elected government of the Sovereign Order of Malta

The Sovereign Council assists the Grand Master in the government of the Order of Malta. It is composed of the Grand Master, who presides over it, the holders of the four High Offices (Grand Commander, Grand Chancellor, Grand Hospitaller and Receiver of the Common Treasure) and six members.

Apart from the Grand Master, they are elected for a five-year term by the Chapter General.

The Sovereign Council is called by the Grand Master and meets at the seat of the Order of Malta at least six times a year and whenever special circumstances require it.

Grand Master
H.M.E.H. Fra’ Giacomo Dalla Torre del Tempio di Sanguinetto


Grand Commander
H.E. Fra’ Ruy Gonçalo do Valle Peixoto de Villas Boas

Grand Chancellor
H.E. Albrecht Freiherr von Boeselager

Grand Hospitaller
H.E. Dominique Prince de La Rochefoucauld-Montbel

Receiver of the Common Treasure
H.E. János Count Esterházy de Galántha


H.E. Fra’ John T. Dunlap
H.E. Fra’ Emmanuel Rousseau
H.E. Fra’ Gottfried von Kühnelt-Leddihn
H.E. Fra’ Roberto Viazzo
H.E. Winfried Graf Henckel von Donnersmarck
H.E. Mauro Bertero Gutiérrez

sovereign council

Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of St John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta

Magistral Palace, Via Condotti, 68 Rome - Italy

Tel. +39.06.67581.1 | [email protected]